Tag Archives: nevada workers compensation laws
While the cost of a Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) exam usually falls on the workers’ compensation insurer, there are rare situations when the burden falls on an injured worker. Unfortunately, this burden just got a bit heavier for the injured workers to carry. Effective February 1, 2023, the cost of a PPD evaluation for 2 … Continue reading PPD Evaluation Exam Cost Rises in 2023
Nevada Workers’ Compensation Mileage Reimbursement Rate Increase 2023 Effective January 1, 2022, the mileage reimbursement rate for Nevada workers compensation related travel has been increased from 58.5 cents per mile to 65.5 cents per mile. See the Division of Industrial Relations’ memorandum here. What Mileage Reimbursement Benefit is an Injured Worker Eligible to Receive for … Continue reading NV Workers’ Compensation Mileage Reimbursement Increased for 2023
While the cost of a Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) exam usually falls on the workers’ compensation insurer. There are circumstances when the burden falls on the injured worker. Unfortunately, this burden just got a bit heavier for the injured workers to carry in these rare situations. Effective February 1, 2022, the cost of a PPD … Continue reading PPD Cost Rises In 2022.
Effective January 1, 2022, the reimbursement rate for workers compensation related travel has been increased from 56 cents per mile to 58.5 cents per mile. See the Division of Industrial Relations’ memorandum here. Injured workers are eligible for mileage allowance under NAC 616C.150. Mileage is eligible for reimbursement if the injured worker is (1) traveling … Continue reading Mileage Reimbursement Increased for 2022.
As mentioned in SB 289 part 1, this year’s legislative session was a big one and SB 289 was a huge bill. SB 289 changed apportionment, who can sign C-4s, determinations send by fax, added attorney’s liens, amended rules about accepting PPD awards, clarified existing rules on vocational rehabilitation, and allows claimants to recover costs. … Continue reading SB 289 part 2 – More Changes
This year’s legislative session was a big one, so big that I will need to break it down into separate blogs. There were three bills that passed this session, that will have an impact on workers’ compensation. The biggest of which was SB 289, which made changes to apportionment, who can sign C-4s, determinations sent … Continue reading SB 289 part 1 – New Apportionment Rules
Effective January 1, 2021, the reimbursement rate for workers compensation related travel has been decreased from 57.5 cents per mile to 56 cents per mile. See the Division of Industrial Relations’ memorandum here. Injured workers are eligible for mileage allowance under NAC 616C.150. Mileage is eligible for reimbursement if the injured worker is (1) traveling … Continue reading Mileage Reimbursement Decreased Again for 2021, Effective January 1, 2021.
Frequently I am asked by potential clients and current clients whether there is a settlement at the end of their workers’ compensation case or how much their case is worth. This question is often hard or impossible to answer. Sometimes, I can estimate whether I think you are likely to have a permanent partial disability … Continue reading 3 Things to Check to Determine If Your PPD Award / Workers’ Compensation Settlement Is Correct.
A lot of clients have this question. Frustration often sets in immediately after the injury, but can be made worse if the injured employee feels she is not being treated fairly at work, is not receiving TTD (pay for being out of work) benefits, receiving TTD benefits, or their employer is not following their work … Continue reading If I Have A Workers’ Compensation Claim, Can I Find a New Job?
For Fiscal Year 2021, which began on July 1, 2020, the maximum average monthly wage used to calculate workers’ compensation benefits has increased to $6,275.73. This is applicable to injuries on claims filed after July 1, 2020. If you have a claim established already, this increase will not affect your benefits. The maximum temporary total … Continue reading Nevada Workers’ Compensation Benefits for Injuries After July 1, 2020 (FY 2021).
In 2015 Attorney Virginia Hunt, along with a group of other claimant’s attorneys, determined that the Division of Industrial Relations (DIR) had been slacking on their statutory duties to update the actuarial annuity table used in the calculation of permanent partial disability (PPD) awards. It was determined that the actuary table being used had not … Continue reading New 2020 Actuarial Tables Released On June 23, 2020, Go Into Effect On July 1, 2020.
A few weeks ago, I posted a blog regarding “5 Mistakes That Can Affect Your Nevada Workers’ Compensation Claim.” Number one on the list was missed filing deadlines. Filing deadlines refers to filing claims with the insurer, giving notice to your employer, and filing appeals to the Department of Administration. However, there are many deadlines … Continue reading Time deadlines for a Nevada Workers’ Compensation Claim.
Workers’ compensation insurance is a requirement for all employers, with one or more employees. It is meant to protect employer’s from negligence lawsuits when an employee is hurt in the course and scope of employment, but also meant to give the injured worker a remedy and to provide medical and compensation benefits when they are … Continue reading Top Reasons a Nevada Workers’ Compensation Claim Gets Denied.
The deadline for appealing a Hearings or Appeals Officer’s decision is 30 days. This is a shorter time frame than the typical appeal deadline for determinations from the adjuster. Deadlines to appeal are quick, frequent, and jurisdictional in workers’ compensation. Jurisdictional in this sense means that if you fail to appeal a Hearing Officer or … Continue reading Appealing a Hearings or Appeals Officer’s Decision.
In a previous blog, I wrote about how workers’ compensation is the exclusive remedy for employees to recover benefits for an injury that occurred at work. Does workers compensation cover every injury that occurs at work? No, workers’ compensation doesn’t automatically apply to all injuries just because they occurred at work. The injury must arise … Continue reading What Does Workers’ Compensation Cover?
The 2015 legislative session made a major change in SB 153 to the heart and lung statutes regarding the application of a conclusive presumption of compensability. A conclusive presumption means that the ill police officer or firefighter does not have to prove that an occupational exposure caused a disabling heart or lung disease. It also … Continue reading 2015 Changes to Nevada Police/Firefighter Heart and Lung Laws
The 78th session of the Nevada legislature closed last night with a close call for Nevada’s most severely injured workers. The self-insured employers’ lobbyist tried a last minute attack on how permanent partial disability awards are calculated by pushing for adoption of the 6th edition of the AMA Guides to Evaluation of Permanent Impairment. Changing … Continue reading Injured Workers in Nevada Survive 2015 Legislative Changes