Category / Topic Archives: Calculating benefits
The following is an article from WorkCompCentral, an online workers’ compensation news reporting service and resource center for the work comp industry and injured workers. I haven’t received a response from DIR to the Petition to Amend Regulation that I filed on July 29. DIR has 30 days to respond to that Petition. I am … Continue reading DIR Undertakes Long-Overdue Review of Discount Rate
Nevada employees whose work-related accident or occupational illness occurs after 7/1/15 are entitled to receive the lesser of 2/3 of their actual average monthly, or 2/3 of the state maximum average monthly wage of $5,426.25. If the injured worker was making more than the state maximum, she is only entitled to receive 2/3 of the … Continue reading Nevada Work Comp Benefits for Injuries after 7/1/15
The 78th session of the Nevada legislature closed last night with a close call for Nevada’s most severely injured workers. The self-insured employers’ lobbyist tried a last minute attack on how permanent partial disability awards are calculated by pushing for adoption of the 6th edition of the AMA Guides to Evaluation of Permanent Impairment. Changing … Continue reading Injured Workers in Nevada Survive 2015 Legislative Changes
In Sierra Nevada Administrators v. Negriev, the Nevada Supreme Court held that when an injured employee reports tip income to his or her employer, that income is included in the average monthly wage calculation. The average monthly wage calculation is used to determine how much an injury worker receives for compensation benefits. The injured worker … Continue reading Untaxed Tip Earnings Included in AMW
Once a claim is accepted by the insurer or the third-party administrator handling the claim, if the injured worker is off work for more than five days in a row, or five days within a twenty-day time period, temporary total disability benefits (TTD) are paid. In order to pay TTD benefits, the insurer must first … Continue reading How Are Benefits Calculated in Nevada?
When an injured worker is taken off work by the treating doctor, the insurer pays the injured worker 66 2/3 of the injured worker’s average monthly wage if it does not exceed the state’s maximum average monthly wage for the year in which the accident occurred. For injuries occurring after July 1, 2009, the maximum … Continue reading Maximum Average Monthly Wage Used to Calculate Benefits