Tag Archives: award
Any injured worker over the age of 30 with a serious work injury is likely to find some reference in his or her medical records to degeneration of the body part being examined. Degenerative disc disease, for example, is actually a normal part of the aging process. But insurers and their third-party administrators start to … Continue reading Nevada Insurers Often Wrong About Pre-existing Conditions
Forgive me for not explaining the word apportionment sooner in my past blog posts about permanent partial disability awards on Nevada workers’ compensation claims. It’s a bad word, and it means subtraction from the percentage of impairment. It the rating doctor writes in his report that he found you have a 10% whole body impairment, … Continue reading What’s An Apportionment of Your PPD Award?
A recent article published in the Journal of Occupational & Environmental Medicine that studied 425 fire fighters from three states showed that more than 40% of the fire fighters had hearing loss in the noise-sensitive frequencies (4 and 6 kHz). Fire fighters with longer years in fire services demonstrated significantly worse hearing. The conclusion was … Continue reading Hearing Loss in Nevada FIre Fighters
Workers’ compensation benefits, including final settlement awards, called permanent partial disability awards, are generally not subject to assignments or garnishments, and are not subject to attorneys liens or medical provider liens. See NRS 616C.205. The one major exception to that general rule is that the statute does allow for payment of past due child support … Continue reading Child Support Deduction from Nevada Work Comp Benefits
I looked at a very interesting award calculator devised by a Maryland attorney based on his review of thousands of work comp awards in Maryland. It asks the injured worker to put a number from 1 though 10 on the level of pain and interference with activities for their injury,r the average weekly … Continue reading What’s My Nevada Claim Worth?
For those with accidents occurring after July 1, 2013 through July 1, 2014, the maximum state average monthly wage is $5,290.70. That figure comes from the Nevada Department of Employment, Training and Rehabilitation, Employment Security Division. That figure is the maximum amount that can be used as an injured worker’s average monthly wage if the … Continue reading Maximum Compensation FY 2014
30 days after your doctor says you are stable and ratable, your adjuster must send you a letter scheduling your PPD exam. (The exam however, doesn’t have to take place within 30 days.) NRS 616C.490(2). 14 days after your rating exam, the rating doctor should send the rating report to the adjuster. NRS 616C.490(6). 14 … Continue reading Time Line for Permanent Partial Disability Awards
Injured workers, employers, and even doctors on workers’ comp provider lists in Nevada remain confused about whether an injured worker who is able to return to work full duty is entitled to a permanent partial disability award. Depending on the injury, an injured worker may be entitled to a rating evaluation and an award, even … Continue reading Am I Entitled to a PPD Award If I’m Released Full Duty?
If your treating physician on your accepted workers’ compensation claim in Nevada reports to your claims adjuster that you may have a ratable impairment, you should be scheduled for an impairment evaluation 30 days later. This evaluation, also called a rating, will be done by one of the 138 doctors and chiropractors who have been … Continue reading Should I Agree to the Insurer’s Rating Doctor?
Each year the WCS Medical Unit of the Division of Industrial Relations (DIR) updates the Medical Fee Schedule that determines the fees for medical services, including impairment evaluations. Effective February 1, 2012, the current 138 authorized rating doctors may charge $693.31 for up to two body parts. $231.54 is chargeable for each additional body part. For example, an … Continue reading Expensive to Obtain a Second Rating
1. Going along with bad medical care You don’t have to accept substandard medical care just because you were injured at work. It is hard to correct a botched surgery. If you feel reluctant or have a gut feeling that the surgeon the insurer has assigned to you isn’t very good or isn’t listening to you, change doctors. You … Continue reading 5 Huge Mistakes Injured Workers Make
Just before Thanksgiving, the Nevada Supreme Court published a turkey of a decision that robs injured workers of disability award money. In Public Agency Compensation Trust v. Blake, 127 Nev. Adv. Op. 77 (2011), the court invalidated a long-standing DIR regulation that addressed how rating doctors are to account for a prior PPD award for a re … Continue reading Terrible New Decision for Injured Workers on PPD Ratings
There’s good news and bad news. The good news is that effective July 1, 2011, the mileage reimbursement rate for using your car to go to and from doctors and physical therapists visits increased from 51 cents per mile to 55.5 cents per mile. Injured workers must have traveled more than 20 miles one way … Continue reading Mileage Reimbursement Rates and Maximum Average Monthly Wage for Nevada Workers’ Comp Claims